Mountain Project Logo

Backcountry.com not playing nice

Matthew Jaggers · · Red River Gorge · Joined Sep 2017 · Points: 695
Old lady H wrote: Ma Ja, points taken. But. The world isn't black and white. I do participate in corporate America, now and then. Yes, I have purchased from Amazon. Yes, I have shopped at giant box stores. Yes, I even have Prime.

However...

I have also shopped farmers markets for many years, for a hefty supply of my food, and helped found a regional seed company growing locally adapted seeds.

That is direct action in a really big picture. Our food supply. I've been doing this for twenty years now, and that is ever so slowly changing the food we all eat for the better. You're welcome.

Maybe you can do stuff on every front at once all the time.

I can't. I pick and choose, moment to moment, purchase by purchase...including buying used gear from my former Backcountry named store. Gear that may have come from....oh dear.

Re Backcountry ©®£¢π? The really idiotic part of this, is it didn't even "benefit" them in any way whatsoever. None of these places were "confusing" the BC name, and, far as I know, none went out of business over it, these "competitors" that threatened to put BC outta business. Righhht. Just..."backcountry". Sheesh. Backcountry©®€√∆ shot themselves in the foot with this, embarrassingly so.

Best, Helen

This is not specifically directed at you Helen, but you provide a great example of someone who is obviously a conscious citizen/spender, and still cant seem to get around the Amazon stranglehold. Convenience is the reason this world is falling apart. It's certainly not convenient to go to the farmer's market and support local farmers, but you set out to do so and made it happen. Finding alternative vendors for products, and waiting a week for it to arrive is not that difficult, you just have to make that decision.