Mountain Project Logo

Help with new ski setup

Original Post
sandrock · · Colorado Springs, CO · Joined Jul 2013 · Points: 120

Hello,
I'm pretty clueless towards ski gear so please bear with me.  I'm looking to get a new/additional setup. Right now I have
Meier Quickdraw size 166
G3 Ion 10 85mm bindings
La Sportiva Starlet 2.0 Boots

and a crappy pair of resort rock skis and boots. I ski the Meiers at resorts and the BC.

These are the only skis I've ever used.  I've been skiing for 3-4 years now in Colorado. Can get down blacks comfortably and double blacks somewhat comfortably. I enjoy steeps and tree skiing. Backcountry I like skiing 14ers and couloirs. Really looking to push my skills this coming season, planning to resort ski every weekend and backcountry ski all spring.

I understand the Meier skis are more front side carving, and the boots are more lightweight and less performance. One questions I have, if I get another set of AT ski boots, can I use both boots in the same bindings, or would they need to be adjusted for one boot only? I've been looking at the La Sportiva Sparkle or Shadow for a new boot, mostly just because I know Sportiva fits my foot well.

If I get a nice all-mountain ski, can I put AT bindings on them and get good performance at the resort? Or do I need a dedicated resort binding/boot/ski setup? I could also mount the Meier Quickdraws on a resort binding/boot, then get a really nice powder/all mountain AT ski and mount it on the ION bindings?

I'm really just looking for some guidance on a new setup or switching around what I currently have. Any specific skis you'd recommend? Boots?  I'm 5'10 153 pounds female.

Do women's skis actually make a difference, or am I ok buying men's skis?

brian burke · · mammoth lakes, ca · Joined Nov 2013 · Points: 165
sandrock wrote:...
I could also mount the Meier Quickdraws on a resort binding/boot, then get a really nice powder/all mountain AT ski and mount it on the ION bindings?