Mountain Project Logo

All day Trad climbers what shoes are you wearing? (Not TC Pros)

Original Post
Jeff Erwin · · Gunnison, CO · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 40

I’m new to climbing so I’ve only had a few pairs of shoes and looking to find what I’m missing out on. I’m comfortable running out 5.9 they call me a seamstress at 5.10 and I’m funny to watch plugging gear anywhere near 5.11 but I have the next 5 months dedicated to climb and hope people start laughing at me in new ways.

My first pair of shoes were Mythos and they happily get me by during resoles. My second was Scarpa Techno X I wore a hole through them and hated the fit. I love my Butora Altura’s but I need a resole. What should I try next for all day trad climbing? Or a trad shoe in general?
Please don’t even bother saying TC pros - I’m a big foot they dont make them in my size. 

Nick Drake · · Kent, WA · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 651

Katana lace
Kataki
Vapor lace

Haven’t found a truly flat shoe I like. Tc pro, techno, pinks and maestro (worst)

Taylor Lapeyre · · San Francisco, CA · Joined Sep 2016 · Points: 179

BD Aspect. Only shoe that I’ve ever liked more than TC Pros for all day trad.

Forthright · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2011 · Points: 110

5.10 Pinks. Good at edging, good at smearing once broken in. Believe them make them in a 15...

Beth C · · Colorado Springs, CO · Joined Nov 2014 · Points: 5
Taylor Lapeyre wrote: BD Aspect. Only shoe that I’ve ever liked more than TC Pros for all day trad.

Seconding this. I had a rough time with TC Pros. The fit just doesn't work for me. The Aspects are rad, though.

S E · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2015 · Points: 878

Five-Ten Mocs are great for cracks or Tenaya Ra for all around trad 

Anonymous · · Unknown Hometown · Joined unknown · Points: 0

Anasazi

Pavel Burov · · Russia · Joined May 2013 · Points: 50

5.10 Anasazi VCS or 5.10 Quantum Lace.

Greg D · · Here · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 883
Jeff Erwin wrote: I’m new to climbing