Mountain Project Logo

high school climbing club help

Original Post
D. Tomlins · · Tulsa, OK · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 125

So, I am a high school teacher and my school had every teacher create a club based on their hobbies or interests. Needless to say I am now the sponsor of a climbing club. We cant actually go climbing because of liability and time allowed. So I am looking for any recommendations or suggestions on things to do. we have an hour once a week. Also if anyone has a good power point presentation to introduce the sport, that would be super helpful.

Chris C · · Seattle, WA · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 407

Instruct them to create MP accounts.  Then teach them how to give poorly thought out advice and vehemently argue about tedious matters.  

They'll be 50% there.

Marc801 C · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 65
D. Tomlins wrote:

So, I am a high school teacher and my school had every teacher create a club based on their hobbies or interests. Needless to say I am now the sponsor of a climbing club. We cant actually go climbing because of liability and time allowed. So I am looking for any recommendations or suggestions on things to do. we have an hour once a week. Also if anyone has a good power point presentation to introduce the sport, that would be super helpful.

Climbing videos? Training/exercise sessions? Knot tying clinics? How to descend from a sport route anchor? (Build a two bolt anchor with chains on a board; put eye rings on the back side of the board and find a spot to lash it with bungies/webbing/et al.) Get each kid to demo/explain something - could even be a historical event: FA of Everest, FA of PO Wall, big wall bivi, etc.

Don't use a Powerpoint presentation - live demo instead. You could lead a traversing pitch, tying off desks or whatever for pro. 

Anonymous · · Unknown Hometown · Joined unknown · Points: 0

Setup a slack line.

Tying different knots could works too.