Mountain Project Logo

Petzl removable bolts

Original Post
Matthew Jaggers · · Red River Gorge · Joined Sep 2017 · Points: 695
Anyone have any thoughts or experience with these? @Jim Titt and @Dave Quinn, my thoughts were these would be a great option for a temporary top anchor for Glue In routes where I didnt have the chance to set top anchors the day before bolting. I've always heard the fixe removables only work well in granite or other hard rock, and they'd get stuck in sandstone becasue of the obvious. These look like they wouldn't get stuck, but maybe I'm just being optimistic. Also, is there an issue with a smaller 12mm hole being drilled out to the 1/2" standard? Being a woodworker, I have trouble sometimes pulling this off cleanly in wood, but wasnt sure if this would be an issue in rock with a hammer drill.

I've heard a small rumor of a removable system coming from Jim, so I don't want to spend $140 on these if the next best thing is coming soon.

https://m.petzl.com/US/en/Sport/Anchors/COEUR-PULSE

Side question...
Can I safely work off of Glue In anchors that were installed right away, using AC100 Gold or A7 glue? I've always been worried of "breaking bond" by moving around on newly placed glue ins. Is that a concern? If that's not a concern, then the removable bolts wont be needed.
Jim Titt · · Germany · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 490

I've never used the Petzl bolts so no help there, if I want a working bolt then it is a wedge bolt. Never drilled 12mm to 1/2" either!
Also no plans for a removable, I've a 10mm Totem one (like Climb Tech) if I needed one.
Never used the resins you mentioned either so not a lot of help I'm afraid.

Jim Titt wrote: I've never used the Petzl bolts so no help there, if I want a working bolt then it is a wedge bolt. Never drilled 12mm to 1/2" either!
Also no plans for a removable, I've a 10mm Totem one (like Climb Tech) if I needed one.
Never used the resins you mentioned either so not a lot of help I'm afraid.