Mountain Project Logo

What do you consider a "big wall?"

Original Post
Adam Hammer · · CT · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 509

What do you guys think makes a big wall a big wall?

certain height, # of pitches, difficulty, having to bivy etc? 

Tomko · · SANTA CLARA CA · Joined Sep 2015 · Points: 20

Not saying I'm an expert on big walling, but my definition would be that the average party would take more than one day to complete the ascent.

T C · · Bozeman, MT · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 1,066

Maybe some aid, a bivouac, over a thousand foot, and it was not original climb in a modern fast a light single push style.

Marc801 C · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 65
Taggart Cole wrote:

...and it was not original climb in a modern fast a light single push style.

Except there have been many modern big wall FA's done in that style, so that defining condition doesn't really exist.

Adam Hammer · · CT · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 509
Marc801 C wrote:

Except there have been many modern big wall FA's done in that style, so that defining condition doesn't really exist.

Exactly my point. So maybe at least 1000 feet of climbing? Usually people associate big walls with hard grades and over 10 pitches. Would a 1000 ft 5.8 free climb be considered "big wall?"

Eli Buzzell · · noco · Joined Nov 2010 · Points: 5,507

Primarily aid routes over 8 pitches.

jon bernhard · · Buena Vista, CO · Joined Apr 2008 · Points: 286

One that is big...

Eli Buzzell · · noco · Joined Nov 2010 · Points: 5,507
jon bernhard wrote:

One that is big...

and wall like in nature. 

Max R · · Bend · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 292