Mountain Project Logo

Possible Snake Dike climb?

Original Post
Andrew G · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 15

Hi Everyone,

I have been climbing regularly for 3 years. I have experience leading trad in the Gunks, ADKS, and Blue Mountains (Australia).  I have been debating climbing the Snake Dike in Yosemite.  I have a full rack, and all the gear, but i am wondering about the nerves, especially for being R rated. Any advice?

Abram Herman · · Grand Junction, CO · Joined May 2009 · Points: 20

The 5.7 parts are pretty well protected, but you need to be comfortable climbing an entire pitch at an easier grade with literally no gear between you and the next anchor. It was several years ago that I did it, but if my memory serves me none of these super runout pitches were harder than maybe 5.4. Hopefully someone who's done it more recently and is more familiar with the route can chime in with a more accurate account.

Jess Arnold · · SLC · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 173

Also interested in more info on the runout/people's relative experience before leading this route. 

Max R · · Bend · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 292

5.7 friction in Yosemite can feel very different than what you're used to at your home crags. The severely runout sections on the dike can be terrifying, but you would have to try to fall. My advise.. If you normally sew up every trad route you climb, and want to feel 100% safe... stay away. But, know that many people, with much less experience than you have climbed the route, and survived. 

beaki · · San Jose · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 100

well, for starters you don't need a "full rack" for snake dike. actually, I strongly suggest you go (very) light. on the first pitch you want one 0.75 bd cam which you put in before you traverse to the left. that piece makes sense for most people and after that there is little opportunity for trad gear. snake dike is bolted and you run it out from bolt to bolt. belays are all bolted.