Mountain Project Logo

Summer Climbing Destinations For Road Trip?

Original Post
JonathanP123 · · Victorville, CA · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 30

I live in the High Desert, which offers some really great climbing... During the cooler months of the year.
-----This summer I am trying to plan a road trip! (Shooting to leave around June)

Any suggestions for some summertime climbing destinations I should check out?

(Planning on camping wherever I can throughout this trip)

How long is the trip? At least a month, maybe longer. Depending on finances.
- How far am I willing to drive? Distance is not really an issue for me, I have been wanting to do a trip like this for a while now.
- Travelling solo or with a partner? So far it is just me, I am planning on either meeting climbing partners on forums or along the way at camp sites and what not.
- Styles of climbing I like- sport? trad? bouldering? Any and all climbing.. Though I have little experience trad climbing, but would love to learn more.
- Grade I climb? I climb sport mostly,upper 10s and low to mid 11s , will follow anything. But would definitely stop for some cool multi-pitches no matter the grade. (Which is another area I have a small amount of experience in)

eli poss · · Durango, CO · Joined May 2014 · Points: 525

Red Rocks, NV. Adapt to the heat

Zachary Hollifield · · Salem, OR · Joined Nov 2016 · Points: 0

You could hit Holcomb Valley in the SBs to start your trip. Temps should be reasonable, and it's in your back yard.

JCM · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2008 · Points: 115

That's a pretty broad question. And there are a lot of good summer crags out there. Just naming all the good summer crags isn't going to help you- there are too many to list. You're going to need to narrow down some details. So:

- How long is your trip?
- How far are you willing to drive?
- Travelling solo or with a partner?
- Styles of climbing you like- sport? trad? bouldering?