Mountain Project Logo

Homemade Prototype Nuts

Original Post
Joe Lange · · Boulder, CO · Joined Aug 2015 · Points: 20

Hi All,

I am looking to make some climbing gear. Not to climb on but to make just for fun and to do some destructive failure testing. Because I am a mechanical engineer, I have full access to CNC machining, heat treating, anodizing. Basically a full production ability to do it right. I will be doing a full FEA analysis of these parts to validate things before I test them on the material testing machine.

The things that I would really appreciate from this community:

1. Where can I buy some wire for the nuts? I was planning on swaging the nuts for one of the prototypes.

2. I was planning on making offsets and and regular nuts. Any thoughts on this?

Also, I realize that I have earned the obligatory "yer gonna die" I would appreciate some leads (ha puns) on this.

Thanks

Kristoffer Wickstrom · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2006 · Points: 51

google aircraft cable.

Nick Penatzer · · Pittsburgh, PA · Joined May 2013 · Points: 35

As a fellow engineer, I think this is a really cool idea! For your second point, I have not used offset nuts before, but I have friends that swear by them, to the point that they have at times climbed exclusively with them over standard nuts. Interested in hearing how your project goes. Keep me posted!

Gunks Jesse · · Shawangunk Township, NY · Joined May 2014 · Points: 111

Also a mechanical engineer here - I've made my own gear and climbed on it. If you do full fea (instead of my hand calculations) and destructive test it (instead of intentionally falling on it with a couple backups), then why not use it? I suppose because your gonna die... you should be able to find the cable at Fastenal or McMaster. Check the spec sheets for swayed connections, but you already knew that.

Make it more interesting and get on a Bridgeport like I did - skip the CNC. You'll have more fun.