Mountain Project Logo

Hangboard Ladders strength training routine - your thoughts?

Original Post
Andy Bandos · · CO · Joined Aug 2013 · Points: 760

I was immediately attracted to this training plan from Steve Bechtel since it is easy to stick with and something you can complete while still simultaneously climbing hard.

climbing.com/skills/trainin…

I'm not a exercise scientist, but I'm sure a typical periodization plan would provide better results. However, I have easy access to rock and getting out climbing is more important to me then spending 2 months on just training. I actually enjoy training, but don't think I climb hard enough to warrant that. I'm hoping to receive good results with this routine, but have some concerns.

My questions/thoughts:

Bechtel says in the article that, "Several studies on isometric strength have shown that the total volume of load (time hanging) is more important than the degree of load (weight)".

1. I've already heard that longer load times equates to endurance, not strength? Am I right on this?

Another interesting comment: "Similar studies showed that it’s possible to gain just as much strength at slightly reduced loads (65 to 75% of maximum) as one might gain while training at maximum (more than 90%) effort."

2. I like this for reduced recovery time. Why in the world would we add max weight (repeaters) to result in failure if it's just going to tax our tendons and put us up for injury if we can use less for more?

3. Has anyone used a routine like this for any length of time to give any insight? Thanks.

Mark E Dixon · · Possunt, nec posse videntur · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 974

If you are new to hang boarding, any program that you actually follow, as long as you don't get hurt, will make your fingers stronger.

That being said, I have a few concerns with this one.