Mountain Project Logo

Help Fight Dangerous Products on Amazon from a Dangerously Ignorant Seller

Original Post
Kevin Christensen · · Salt Lake City, UT · Joined Nov 2015 · Points: 65

Was looking for a replacement dynamic rope on Amazon (boo I know I should buy local) and found what looked like a too good to be true deal for a nice looking rope. However with just minimal effort I found out that this was clearly mislabeled garbage. I guess this irks me because I'm fairly new to climbing and feel I could have been naive enough at one time to fall for this product. I know that it would have been on me for not doing basic homework. Anyway, I decided to raise my concerns with the seller who replied fairly comically. If you have some free time I would greatly appreciate a little support in informing naive Amazonians that this product is not labelled correctly and could kill them. The seller is obviously using zombie accounts to give this and other mislabeled products 5 stars. Here is the link to the product:

amazon.com/Dynamic-Single-R…

This is my comments and the sellers comment:
ME:
Not labeled as UIAA Certified! Also does not provide the rope elongation ratio. What are you really buying? The Max safe load described is under 5KN, most are close to double that (HUGE difference). I would be extremely cautious about calling this a “professional rope, rock climbing rope”. From the grammar and dates all 4 previous comments on this product were probably written by the same person. Do not trust this product to save your life in a fall! Please spend a little extra money and buy something that’s rated to save you butt should you fall, isn’t that the point after all.

Seller:
Hi, did you ever buy our dynamic rope? I did not find your record, so you do not have right to judge our rope and you do not have the right to ask other buyer to NOT BUY.
See you give us 1 star with such unbeliveable evidence, you are NOT a good man at all!! who will belive such bad people!!!