Mountain Project Logo

Training with busted ribs

Original Post
Max Koenig · · New Haven, CT · Joined Mar 2013 · Points: 10

Anyone have any advice for training while busted up? I broke 10 ribs on the right side of my body three weeks ago and I'm trying to figure out how to not get fat and weak while I recover. I'm able to go on walks now but I was hoping to incorporate some climbing specific exercise.

Any ideas?

NickO · · West Slope · Joined Apr 2011 · Points: 30

Crunches

M Sprague · · New England · Joined Nov 2006 · Points: 5,090

..and comedy shows

Wow what great ideas... I think I'll also inhale some pepper and do some boxing

Quinn Baker · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 1

I feel like crunches would exacerbate rib pain, but I dont know, I'm not a doctor lol. Perhaps planks would be a better choice, since you wouldnt be flexing your ribs as much?

I would try to isolate climbing-related muscle groups that you can train without your ribs hurting. Maybe get a grip training device or see if hangboarding would be okay to do. Of course, speak to your doctor about it before you start anything. Maybe you can find some yoga poses or stretches that will help you maintain flexibility while you recover.

Steve Mullins · · Boulder, CO · Joined Mar 2010 · Points: 0

When I busted ribs a few weeks back I couldn't do anything for a few days/first week, after that the only thing that didn't hurt was hangboarding. So I took a 4 weeks and just hung a few times a week

chris vultaggio · · The Gunks · Joined Dec 2008 · Points: 535

Second the hangboarding (careful jumping down of course), it'll still make you feel like a climber. Also you can get on wrist curls, shoulders and tris as opposing group stabilizers.