Mountain Project Logo

Share the Wealth. Please!

Original Post
mountainlion · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2012 · Points: 30

I have been climbing in the Philippines for the last 4 months. There is a small climbing community here that shares all of thier gear. Literally one rope (ancient), 16 quickdraws , a couple harnesses, a few belay devices, and a few different pairs of worn out shoes.

Sad to say it but the country is in extreme poverty (way worse than what I experienced traveling to Tijuana Mexico. They do make use of gear that I would have long ago retired.

I have donated one climbing rope, one belay device, and 10 quickdraws. As well as the gear that I climb with myself. They are all very friendly and it feels like climbing at home.

If anyone has it in their heart to donate used gear please post up. I know that lots of us bought gear that we dont use (for example I have a belay tube device but use my ATC while the tube device sits in the bin, and old D biners that go unused since I upgraded to wire gate biners). I can provide a contact address as well as provide photographic evidence that the gear ended up in the hands of the needy climbers I am asking on behalf of.

The items most in need are shoes, harnesses, belay devices, carabiners or quickdraws, and rope. However bolts and hangars would be put to good use as well.

Thanks Eric Coffman

Gear gathering dust in your bin? That gear could change someone's
life here. People here make about $8 a day for hard work and can't afford to use thier money on gear.

Think about how climbing has enriched your life.

Pay it forward!

Peace Eric

I didn't know there was a free gear thread Tony.

If anyone is interested in paying it forward. Please send me a message.

Thanks

Pay it forward.

Give someone without much joy in thier life the gift of climbing!

Band together if need be and make a difference.

Peace

MTN MIA · · Vail · Joined May 2006 · Points: 405