Mountain Project Logo

Pikes Peak climbing and defense of traditional ethics

Original Post — This topic is locked and closed to new replies
Bosier Parsons · · Colorado Springs, CO · Joined Jan 2003 · Points: 1,380

I have been climbing and skiing on Pikes Peak for thirty years and have climbed about fifty different routes in the alpine areas of the South Cirque, Bottomless Pit, North Cirque, and Glen Cove. I have skied about every couloir you can on the Peak. My love for the area is extensive and my passion for protecting the Peak’s climbing traditions and ethics runs through my veins.

I have never slandered anyone, called anyone names, told lies, or harassed anyone about their climbing choices. I have remained quiet and unengaged with social media commentary, as I was not wanting to promote, recruit, or specifically attack anyone personally, nor did I want people thinking I was doing this as a reason to become famous. However, after Phil Wortmann’s post on Facebook where he incited people to reach out to Brad Saren and myself, I have received several emails, messages, and Facebook posts from people expressing their frustrations with my actions. One person posted a verbally abusive and aggressive comment on my Facebook page, on my mother’s memorial comment page on Facebook, and on my daughter’s Facebook page, which we reported, and I consider harassment. I ask the community to consider this, and to please stop harassing me, my friends, and my family. I will not engage in back-and-forth social media commentary regarding this statement or my actions. Considering this kind of behavior, I must now give my statement regarding Pikes Peak’s traditional climbing ethics and my defense thereof.