Mountain Project Logo

Sport + bouldering near DC

Original Post
VictorN · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2015 · Points: 0

I'm going to be in DC for month starting early Sept and am trying to see if there are good sport or bouldering crags within a driveable distance from DC. It'd mostly be on weekends, possibly at the end of the day if it's close enough. From what I've found, most crags around the DC area (~2-4ish hours away) are trad...which I basically have zero experience in and am not really interested in unless a really seasoned vet is willing to take on basically a complete newbie hah. It seems my best bet for sport would be New River Gorge?

Thanks in advanced!

TaylorP · · Pump Haus, Sonora · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 0

Elizabeth Furnace is about 1.5 hours from DC, right off of 66. It has a few trad lines, but it mostly sport. Its a small cliff but definitely the closest sport climbing to DC

Luke B · · Pittsburgh, PA · Joined Aug 2012 · Points: 25

Safe Harbor in Pennsylvania is about 2-2.5 hours from DC. It's an ok place to go in late fall and winter. Summer is way too hot there.

There's also Reed's Creek and Smoke Hole Canyon in West Virginia are about 3 hours from DC. I've never been to Smoke Hole and have been to Reed's Creek once. Reed's Creek was a lot of fun. Make sure to buy the Rakkup guide if you go to either Reed's Creek or Smoke Hole. The Rakkup guide has more routes than Mountain Project, and I believe the proceeds go towards development of the crags.

Andrew S · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2016 · Points: 36

Harper's Ferry has some pretty good bouldering

Pat K · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2017 · Points: 55

Elizabeth Furnace, talking headwall and buzzard rocks

I F · · Megalopolis Adjacent · Joined Mar 2017 · Points: 4,362