Mountain Project Logo

AT skiers, slipping up?

Original Post
highaltitudeflatulentexpulsion · · Colorado · Joined Oct 2012 · Points: 35

I'm hoping some of you guys have some advice for me.I am trying to avoid signing up for too many websites and I know a lot of the same experts from those snowy websites probably climb.

I'm slipping uphill like crazy.

Usually it's on stuff thats steep enough for me to use the highest heel. At that grade, if it's packed at all, I can't move. On the first (flat) and second (medium) I'm usually fine. I feel like it's getting worse but it might just be that I'm encountering more steep stuff. I definitely slip on the medium height but not if I concentrate.

My setup, 122/80/118 X 175 with tech bindings. G3 straight skins of unknown makeup (mohair or synthetic, dunno) that are abot 75mm. Basically just the edge is exposed underfoot and lots exposed elsewhere. I got this setup used, I'm basically a beginner (both up and down). I expect to upgrade but I figure I can go a couple more winters before I get good to justify new stuff.

The skis are pretty skinny though, definitely less surface area than my wife's, even though hers are way short. Would getting a full coverage skin make them climb up well enough to go up some of the steeper packed trails (nothing absurd, just steep enough that I'd be using my tallest heel)?

I could see the exposed bottom essentially causing the ski to float, and that's why I'm slipping. I could also see also see on thin ski like mine, a wider skin isn't that much change in surface area, and it would be a waste of money. So which is it?

My father in law seems to think that as long as you've got edge to edge coverage, the overall width of the ski shouldn't matter. If true, this is a pretty easy $160 fix.

If I need new skins, I hear synthetic climbs better? Any specific brand to look for?

If I don't need new skins, can you tell me about ski crampons?

j w · · Bishop, CA · Joined Dec 2011 · Points: 8