Mountain Project Logo

Summit Suggestions - Solo Beginner Mountaineering & Deep Snow Travel

Original Post
David Tolomei · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2017 · Points: 0

Hi Everyone! First post, but love the forum.. 

I'm posting for suggestions of a solo beginner mountaineering route. I had intended to do Whitney this winter, as it sounded like the perfect level of difficulty, but there's no snow out there presently. I fully intend on taking a legitimate mountaineering course as soon as finances allow, but I gotta scratch this itch sooner than that.

What I'm looking for: A challenging mix of deep snow, & extreme weather; & at least a 2 day climb, but honestly, would be fine with a week or more out there. I guess logically I should avoid anything glaciated since I'm a solo beginner. 

Background: I haven't had any formal training, but I am a research junkie & train hard with my gear. I'm in good shape, have experience long distance hiking, & am comfortable at altitudes as high we have here in the continental. 

Gear I Don't Have: Harnesses, ropes, or any kind of protection. Confident I have everything else I could need, but happy to talk gear if this post takes that turn..

Thanks everybody! Suggestions will be very appreciated!

Eli Boardman · · Boulder, CO · Joined Jun 2016 · Points: 742
FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Do you have any experience or training with crampons and an ice ax? Avalanche hazard assessment? Those would be good skills to have before venturing off into winter mountaineering destinations. 

Edit: Eli beat me to it! 

Chris C · · Seattle, WA · Joined Mar 2016 · Points: 396

Going off on your own is not a great idea, especially if you are looking for callenging weather and conditions without any experience. It is an easy way to die. 

You probably have some sort of mountaineering club in your area that does intro courses and full climbs for little to no cost.