Mountain Project Logo

Rope anchor question

Original Post
JRZane · · Jersey · Joined Dec 2015 · Points: 95

Yes, I use a PAS most of the time. Yes, I wear it as a thong sometimes (when I have a lot of cams/draws). Yes I am a beginner climber (entering my 3rd year, 2nd leading trad).

I enjoy learning many different anchor techniques and when theres a good belay ledge i have been making my anchor out of the rope more and more often.  To the point Im considering ditching my much-mal-aligned PAS thong.  I can't get past one thing.....

I use the: harness to clove hitch on piece 1, clip piece 2, clove hitch piece 3 and pull down to a MP technique. Ive found it fast and efficient. However, what I can't get past is the situation where I'm NOT on a good ledge (say semi-hanging to just very small and leaning back weight on the anchor).  We swap leads and now my leader is taking up all the slack. once it gets to the anchor I grab the rope and yell THATS ME and he puts me on belay.  He yells ON BELAY and I proceed to break down the anchor.  Except now theres 8-10' of slack in an anchor that I'm either weighting or don't really feel so great about breaking down.

what am i missing here?

Tristan Burnham · · La Crescenta, CA · Joined Oct 2009 · Points: 2,176

Use a cordalet to equalize the anchor. And clove into that. Then you only have like 1 foot of slack to undo the Clove. 

Tristan Burnham wrote:

Use a cordalet to equalize the anchor. And clove into that. Then you only have like 1 foot of slack to undo the Clove. 

using a cord is exactly what I'm trying to avoid.

kenr · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2010 · Points: 16,608

Look for some links + photos from posts by rgoid. He was a big promoter of rope anchors.
. . . (His approach tends to use a butterfly knot in addition to clove hitches).