Mountain Project Logo

Helmet when bouldering

Original Post
Nyte Knight · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 10

Other than personal choice, is there any reason NOT to wear a helmet when bouldering? Like is there an increase of certain injury due to falling a shorter distance with the helmet?

The climber is 14 so over worried mom wants to protect the head. 

Dead Head · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2017 · Points: 65
Nyte Knight wrote:

Other than personal choice, is there any reason NOT to wear a helmet when bouldering? Like is there an increase of certain injury due to falling a shorter distance with the helmet?

The climber is 14 so over worried mom wants to protect the head. 

There is no increased risk of falling with a helmet.  Is he in the gym or outside?  If he doesn't climb anything taller than 10 feet I would say don't worry about it.  But I'm not an expert.

Nyte Knight · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 10

She. And it would be outdoors. We boulder and top rope in a gym without one but the entire floor is covered in padding.

We are looking to start outdoor bouldering since the equipment costs are lower than outdoor lead or top roping. But eventually move into that as confidence increases. 

Any suggestions on helmets that also protect side and back impacts? Would think if you’d miss the pad on a fall, that’s where you’d hit instead of the top

Nyte Knight wrote:

She. And it would be outdoors. We boulder and top rope in a gym without one but the entire floor is covered in padding.

We are looking to start outdoor bouldering since the equipment costs are lower than outdoor lead or top roping. But eventually move into that as confidence increases. 

Any suggestions on helmets that also protect side and back impacts? Would think if you’d miss the pad on a fall, that’s where you’d hit instead of the top