Mountain Project Logo

Boot help: LS Nepal or Acrux AR's

Original Post
Overshot03 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2014 · Points: 95

I am looking for a new pair of boots for all-mountain New England use.  Looking at the Nepal Cube and the Arcteryx Acrux AR.  I have tried on the Nepal and think the fit is pretty dialed in.  I have not tried on the Acrux and probably can't other that ordering from BC.com. I would say I tend to definitely run warm and would like to use these for some of the colder north east objectives on  the future.  Is the Nepal going to be a bit more durable long term?  If warranty was an issue, do you think either company will back them accordingly? Any input is welcomed!  

Brent D · · New England · Joined Oct 2016 · Points: 279

If you like the fit of the Nepal the acrux may not fit well. I have been climbing in nepals for the past three years. Tried on acrux last season and was surprised how uncomfortable they were for me after 5 minutes. Nepals will also be more durable, imo. 

If you are after a boot warmer than the Nepal my suggestion would be to check out the G5 or g2 sm instead. 

Clint Helander · · Anchorage, AK · Joined Dec 2007 · Points: 612

Nepal EVOs will be the most durable. Nepal Ice Cubes will be lighter but less durable than the indestructable EVOs. Acrux is a great boot, but may be more niche than the Nepals.

Overshot03 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2014 · Points: 95

Good input. 

As far as the warmth, as long as I can get by at 15 F below when moving I'll be ok.  My feet do run exceptionally warm so I think I can get by with a little less insulation that some people.

Not sure durability is at the top of my list, but it definitely counts.  Anyone have any comments on the Acrux durability? Thanks! 

akafaultline · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 225