Mountain Project Logo

Insulation under Alpha SV

Original Post
Will Bland · · Halifax, NS · Joined Jun 2017 · Points: 490

I live east coast canada. It's cold and wet. 

I use this for hiking in the cold of winter, walking to and from work early am / in blizzards (I'm a nurse, no snow days).

Typically I wore my Cerium LT + Alpha SV, with a fleece under the Cerium when it got really cold.

The cerium didn't fit well / comfortably, it was too small, so I just sold it. I'm looking for something a bit beefier to replace it. My alpha sv fits with lots of room for layering.

I was thinking of getting a RAB Electron to wear under my Alpha SV /  to replace my Cerium. Does this sound okay? If not - any other suggestions? Possibly a Thorium SV? Although I'd like to stay away from arc teryx puffies after how I found the cerium to fit.

Brian Stewart · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2017 · Points: 0

Really, that's your call on how the RAB fits. Keep in mind DeadBird's fit is pretty hard to match across brands because of the way they construct the arms of their jackets. OR has a sick puffy called the Incandescent, though they tend to have a long torso cut that might peak out under the Alpha which has the shortest torso cut out of their hardshell collection.

Good luck out there

Brian Stewart wrote:

Really, that's your call on how the RAB fits. Keep in mind DeadBird's fit is pretty hard to match across brands because of the way they construct the arms of their jackets. OR has a sick puffy called the Incandescent, though they tend to have a long torso cut that might peak out under the Alpha which has the shortest torso cut out of their hardshell collection.

Good luck out there

Very true. I don't think I'll be able to find a RAB Electron to try on out here. I wonder how the medium fits compared to arc teryx cerium. :(

Kevin Mcbride · · Canmore AB · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 505