Mountain Project Logo

Beginner Plateau

Original Post
Ryan · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 5

I have been climbing casually between classes for two years or so and avoided crimps in the gym like the plague when I first started.  I have hit a spot where I am able to send all the easy stuff, but when the holds get thinner on harder problems, my finger strength seems to be that of a beginner.  I have no problem doing the moves technique wise, but I just can't hold on. 

I am wondering if I am at a point where hangboarding would benefit my climbing.  And if so, what are some good hangboard options with deeper holds and has training plans easily available?  Or is something like a grippul with a cable machine in a gym a better place to start?

Aleks Zebastian · · Boulder, CO · Joined Jul 2014 · Points: 175

climbing friend,

you may toughen yourself up and simply be stubborn working on your projects do not accept defeat do not release your crimps until they pry them from your cold dead hand. you would be getting stronger if you can take the ego punishment.

if you like grope at the hangboard to feel as if you are accomplishing something without the actual climbing on climbing rocks climb on, as we all would do, there is plenty o info on these tubes of internetz. perhaps you read on https://www.reddit.com/r/climbharder/

be warned o friend, you must achieve very high levels of sexual frustration, and even nerd level 9, in order to properly utilize the hangboard and appropriate spreadsheetz.

Andrew Krajnik · · Plainfield, IL · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 1,739