Mountain Project Logo

Annual sales on ropes / trad gear

Original Post
Ziv I · · New York, NY · Joined Aug 2017 · Points: 0

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner outdoors / hopeful multi-pitch trad climber, and I was looking into buying a trad rack. Seems that there's no real reason to go on it piece by piece, so I'm wondering - when is the best time to buy gear? With labor day sales coming up, do REI/other websites offer significant discounts usually? Or should I just bear the cost and go at it? (NYC local btw)

Many thanks,

Ziv

Eric L · · Roseville, CA · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 145

I just purchased my rack this year.  Here's what I found... Never buy anything less than 20% discount - that comes up around most US holidays on most everything, somewhere.  Occasionally you will find a 25% off somewhere online.  You can also watch "active junky" for more discounts or cash back deals.  You do not need C4 sizes 5 and 6 (yet) so don't order the FULL rack, better to double up on #1-3 and buy a #4 if you really think you need it (which you may not at first).  Read the plethora of articles on "beginner trad rack" to figure out what you need first, knowing where you will climb.  Get a mentor to keep you from buying S--- you don't need.  Have fun.

djh860 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Dec 2014 · Points: 110

buy it used one piece at a time here or on ebay.  Insist on good pictures of the cam lobes and only buy excellent gear at excellent prices.  It will take all winter but it will be a good deal.

Andrew Krajnik · · Plainfield, IL · Joined Jul 2016 · Points: 1,739

I'll second EricL's advice above. Assuming you want to buy new, and don't need it immediately, wait for at least 20% off. There are periodic sales all the time (memorial day, Labor Day, Independence Day, plus various annual sales, beginning-of-season sales, end-of-season sales, etc.) that any given item can usually be found on sale multiple times a year, spread across several stores.