Mountain Project Logo

Skis vs. Splitboard for Technical Climbing

Original Post
Mike Slavens · · Houston, TX · Joined Jan 2009 · Points: 35

I read this forum LINK and it had a good discussion of ski vs. splitboard vs. snowshoe.  I think I understand the general recommendation but was looking for input to make sure I'm interpreting the recommendation for my specific case.  Also, as I'm brand new to the world of AT/tele skis if you could point me to some resources on where to learn a bit more and where best to potentially find a used pair it would be much appreciated.

I'm really only interested in technical climbs (ice/mixed) but need a way to skin in/out for the approach.  I have little to no interest in ski mountaineering.  I'm from CO where I never skied, only resort snowboarded (and only on the days I didn't go rock or ice climbing).  However I now live in Houston, TX so I have very limited time in the mountains to pick up skinning much less DH skiing as well.  I would be doing all skinning/skiing/splitboarding in a Spantik/G2SM or Scarpa Mt. Blanc boot as that is what I would be using to climb the route.

It seems the recommendation in my case would be to get a mid-length AT type ski with Silvretta 500 binding.  Because I wouldn't be hitting those sweet powder descents often if ever, I wouldn't be getting the benefit of the splitboard.  It seems that the efficiency of skinning in skis would more than offset the improved decent of a splitboard vs skis as I'm just looking to get back to the car/base camp.

Thoughts?  Thanks

Forthright · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2011 · Points: 110

If you're already strong on a snowboard I'd look more into a splitboard and using bindings that you can use with mountaineering boots. Ditto on what Kyle said, skiing in a mountaineering boot is WAY different than even the softest ski boot.