Mountain Project Logo

Will my Metolius PAS fail?

Original Post
Claudiu Saftoiu · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2017 · Points: 0

Hi all. I'm relatively new to climbing, only been at it a few months. I've mostly done top-roping - I can do some 10-range climbs clean and am starting into the 11s at the gym.

I've done some outdoor climbing, and comfortably know how to set up my personal anchor (I use a Metolius PAS), set up a rappel, and abseil down. As you all know, at some point the PAS is the only thing holding my weight, and the rope isn't going through the anchor anymore. At this point I feel the beginnings of a potential terror starting. I'm able to simply not think about it and continue on, but my fear is that the PAS will break and I'll just fall down to my death.

I would feel a lot better if I could witness a stress test on a Metolius PAS that clearly demonstrated my weight has basically no chance in hell of breaking it. I know it's rated at many thousands of Newtons, but intellectually knowing the rating should mean it never breaks would be different than seeing a demo... does anyone have any advice of how to get over this or videos they could share?

J Verg · · Idyllwild, CA · Joined Jul 2015 · Points: 95

You are about to experience your first dyneema vs nylon argument. 

Mike Womack · · Orcutt, CA · Joined Mar 2014 · Points: 2,015
Verg wrote:

You are about to experience your first dyneema vs nylon argument. 

HAHA! seriously though... I don't have a video for you, but I will tell you- the faster you learn to trust your gear, the faster you'll be a better climber. 

Jason Todd · · Cody, WY · Joined Apr 2012 · Points: 1,114

A PAS is essentially a series of belay loops, which are incredibly stout. Get over it by doing it a bunch, correctly of course.

http://blackdiamondequipment.com/en_US/qc-lab-strength-of-worn-belay-loops.html

tradvlad · · SLC, UT · Joined Oct 2012 · Points: 5

Claudiu, are you Romanian?