Mountain Project Logo

Best places to live for mountaineering

Original Post
Ian Ritterbush · · Lincoln, Ne · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 0

Hello,

I am wanting to become certified as an alpine guide through the AMGA but lack the experience to get started, I'm from Nebraska, terrible place to live for mountain lovers. I have been climbing indoors for a few months with some outdoor experience sport climbing, and have a couple 14ers under my belt. My question is, where is the best place to move to gain alpine experience and join a rescue team? Colorado is extremely expensive and I'm not looking for expensive at all. Tucson would be a great fit for me potentially, but I was also thinking Wyoming. Looking for a friend. Thanks in advance!

Paul Ross · · Keswick, Cumbria · Joined Apr 2001 · Points: 22,236
Ian Ritterbush wrote:

Hello,

I am wanting to become certified as an alpine guide through the AMGA but lack the experience to get started, I'm from Nebraska, terrible place to live for mountain lovers. I have been climbing indoors for a few months with some outdoor experience sport climbing, and have a couple 14ers under my belt. My question is, where is the best place to move to gain alpine experience and join a rescue team? Colorado is extremely expensive and I'm not looking for expensive at all. Tucson would be a great fit for me potentially, but I was also thinking Wyoming. Looking for a friend. Thanks in advance!

Take up golf however it is  also a bit expensive... At the moment you are perhaps 10 years behind in experience.

M Mobley · · Bar Harbor, ME · Joined Mar 2006 · Points: 911

Driggs Idaho or Jackson WY

trailridge · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2012 · Points: 20