Mountain Project Logo

Seeking advice for getting into big wall climbing

Original Post
Derrick Keene · · Kentucky · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 95

Gumby checking in here for some advice.

Ive been climbing for a couple years and all my outside experience has been at Red River Gorge, KY. I'm getting into trad and hope to some day get on some big walls. So far my biggest climb is the 200 foot 5.7 multipitch "Firefox". I don't have any certain climb in mind to reach as I just enjoy the multipitch climbing experience a bit more than sport climbing. The higher the better. I don't care if the climibing is difficult or easy. I just enjoy climbing and I love the beautiful views reaped from it. So, with all that said would like some opinions on where to go next. I have my eye on Looking Glass NC or Seneca Rocks WV. I climb 5.11 sport and feel comfortable on 5.8 trad. I haven't really pushed my limits on trad yet, but plan to very soon. Any tips, pointers, recommendations, trash talking is welcome.

Ryan Hamilton · · Orem · Joined Aug 2011 · Points: 5

So... are you interested in just doing more multi-pitch trad, or big wall climbing? Bit wall climbing, while it doesn't have to be aid climbing, is often comprised of a lot of it because the average person can't lead 15+ pitches of 5.11+ trad. So, if it's big walls you want to do then you need to start learning to aid climb. Which is also a great way to lean to place gear, which translates well to trad climbing because you place 3x as much gear on aid as you do trad, maybe more. 

If it's just muti-pitch trad climbs you want to do, which is fine, they are tons of fun, use the MP tool to find multipitch trad routes in 5.7-5.8 grades and go climb a bunch. If you want to get into big wall climbing go find some lesser used trad or aid climbs and start practicing. A blot ladder is ideal to get used to the movement of aid climbing because as easy as it sounds to climb a ladder, it's not, at least not at first.