Mountain Project Logo

What rope should a new climber get?

Original Post
Jackson Chambers · · Springville, UT · Joined Apr 2017 · Points: 52

I'm just starting out climbing, and figure it's time to buy my own rope. I know that I'm going to get 60-70m single rope, but I'm not sure about the exact rope. Do I go cheaper, for one that won't last as long? Or go all out on a nice Petzl or Black Diamond rope for a few hundred bucks? 

DR · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2014 · Points: 974

Mammut Transformer is an awesome first rope. Anything in the 9.6mm to 10.0mm range will work.

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 276

Get the cheapest dynamic climbing rope you can find that is over 10mm, preferably 10.5. They stand up to toproping better.  Don't make your first rope an expensive one.  

Ol Leatherhands · · Olympia, WA · Joined Feb 2017 · Points: 0

My $0.02:

Keep your eye peeled for a Blue Water Lightning Pro in 60m. You can get one for roughly $150 or $160. Sometimes you can get one with full dry treatment for the same price.

Amazon, surprisingly, often has good deals on this rope. Super durable, highly regarded by many climbers. Very nice handling, and decent weight.

Matt Himmelstein · · Orange, CA · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 194

If you are top ropping, something in the 10 - 10.5 mm will hold up well.  Dry treatment is nice, but not a requirement.  Brand does not really matter either, any rope from a reputable manufacturer will do.  Get one on sale if you can.  A middle mark or a bi-color is really handy if you plan on doing an rappels.

If you want to get into leading,  then something in the 9.5 to 9.8 range is better for a 1st rope.  You will appreciate the lghter weight and less drag, even if he rope is less durable.

If you are mainly sport climbing, see what the areas around you use.  No sense in getting a 70m if you can do everything with a 60.  If you are getting into trad, then the extra 10m is often handy.