Mountain Project Logo

Cipro and Climbing

Original Post
FourT6and2 ... · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 45

I have tonsillitis. Yeah, gross. Doctor prescribed me Cipro (antibiotic). But this stuff has a pretty serious Black Box Warning that says it can lead to some crazy tendon issues (like legit ruptured tendons), joint pain, permanent nerve damage, etc. So now I'm freaked out. I haven't started taking it yet. Doctor said something like, "don't go skiing or anything...". I told him I'm a climber. But I don't think he knows just how much stress that puts on your tendons, joints, etc. The warning label says tendon injuries can happen even up to 6-9 months later.

Has anybody here ever taken this antibiotic? Did ya'll die or what? Did your tendons all explode? You turn into a plate of spaghetti? Gimme the details, please.

Mateo San Pedro · · OR · Joined Apr 2011 · Points: 266

That's an interesting question.

As an ER doctor I only really get concerned with cipro and the older population whose tendons are generally weaker with age. As a climber, spontaneous tendon rupture is going to be unlikely since your tendons are strong but shit, I would wait until you are done with the antibiotic to climb because who wants to risk that. My guess is you would still be totally fine but you are the one who needs to calculate the risks and benefits. I wouldn't wait 6-9 months AT ALL though. 1) it's a rare (but obviously) serious complication and 2) less common in young, healthy patients.

A quick review of PubMed: risk factors associated with FQ-induced tendon disorders include age greater than 60 years, corticosteroid therapy, renal failure, diabetes mellitus, and a history of musculoskeletal disorders.

(FQ - fluoroquinolone i.e. cipro)

Morty Gwin · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2008 · Points: 0