Mountain Project Logo

Amputation of right index finger due to lead fall in climbing gym

Original Post
Austin Martin · · Morgantown, WV · Joined Oct 2014 · Points: 1,509

To preface the discussion surrounding what happened to me at the rock gym, I will say that I have been climbing seriously for 6 years, and have much experience with sport, trad, and climbing in the alpine. The gym pictured is the gym that I train at most, I spend on average 4-5 days per week there. On Sept 2nd I was climbing as I normally do, clipping bolts with a friend of mine. After about an hour climbing sport I got on a hard techy-face climb (around 6:45pm). As I was beginning to climb above the 2nd bolt (bolt maybe at my waist, to my left), I took a very much unexpected lead fall. I think my feet must have blown as I was neither pumped nor expecting a fall. I knew immediately that something was wrong, and when I looked at my right had this was affirmed. My belayer lowered me to the ground (which I was not far from), and I got a better look at my hand. My right index finger was fractured cleanly through the proximal phalanx (between knuckle on palm and next knuckle) and the bone was protruding out. It was quite a messy finger and hard to describe because of how twisted and gnarly it looked. Refer to the attached x-ray. I was bleeding, but not a whole lot. Long story short, EMS came immediately and I was taken to the ER. By 9:30pm I was in surgery. I spent 11 hours in surgery as the surgeon did a nerve graft harvest from my Achilles region and vessel graft harvest from my right wrist. He reattached the finger, and it stayed on for 2 days however it received minimal blood flow. I had the entire right index finger amputated on Monday sept 5th, 3 days after the accident/reattachment, as it was very clear that it was the best option (and only option, at this point). What happened during the accident was somehow, I am not quite sure how, the rope looped itself around my index finger during my lead