Mountain Project Logo

FrictionLabs chalk: lots of false statements in their website. I would not trust them

Original Post
Phillip Shih · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2011 · Points: 0

My friend asked me about chalk by FrictionLabs (frictionlabs.com) since I have a PhD in Materials Science and Engineer and have been climbing for 15 years. Their product is “a lot” more expensive than other brands. Typically we can buy climbing chalk for well under $1 per oz, but FrictionLbab’s product is at least 2.5 times that price. So I looked through their website and. I was blown away and furious/sad/upset about their marketing scam. So I decided to wright up this review/report.
This review is about the false(?) information that FrictionLabs conveys, not the review of their actual product.

Summary:
My own Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM) with Energy Dispersive X ray Spectroscopy (EDX) experiment suggests that Metolius chalk is almost 100% MgCO3 with no CaCO3 and no major impurities. I suspect that FrictionLabs is using false data for it’s own market purposes. Also, what FrictionLabs says in its website actually contradicts itself. I would NOT trust a company who uses this type of false market scheme.
If you really want safe MgCO3, you can buy from the nutrition supplement industries. They sell food grade MgCO3 at the equivalent of 70% off compared to the price from Frictionlabs. However, a baking process to remove water (moisture) might be necessary to treat the MgCO3 from nutrition supplement industries.

1: Background:
FrictionLabs claims that other chalk brands (Metolus, evolve and such) all have significant amounts of impurities like drying agents, heavy metals and other fillers. They claim that (in their own words) :

All climbing chalks claim to be 100% Magnesium Carbonate. When you run the tests though, the truth is that they all have significant amounts of impurities, drying agents, heavy metals, and other fillers.