Mountain Project Logo

Best Cordless Power Drill for Bolting on Lead

Original Post
Alex Bury · · Ojai, CA · Joined Jun 2012 · Points: 2,376

Which is your favorite cordless drill for bolting on lead, and why?

Lynn S · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2007 · Points: 1,380

I've been using a Bosch 36v compact for several years. Drilled hundreds of holes in all rock types, been great for me.

Jim Titt · · Germany · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 490

Makita BHR 162RFJ, that´s what I use.

Paul Ross · · Keswick, Cumbria · Joined Apr 2001 · Points: 22,236

Bosch 36v ..superb.

Bosch is currently putting out two different 36v rotary hammers. The 11536C-2 and the 11536VSR. Anyone ever tried the VSR on lead? Faster drilling times make the extra weight worth it?

Chris Clarke · · Davis, WV · Joined Apr 2009 · Points: 130

I've used both to bolt on lead and prefer the lighter one if I have a choice. But I also strongly prefer bolting from the top down if possible because I think it generally produces better routes.

Geir www.ToofastTopos.com · · Tucson/DMR · Joined Jun 2006 · Points: 2,751
Alex Bury wrote:Thanks guys. So after looking at the Bosch website, they are currently putting out two different 36v rotary hammers. The 11536C-2 and the 11536VSR. The C-2 seems like the obvious choice, it being about three pounds lighter than the VSR. Out of curiosity however, anyone ever tried the VSR on lead? Faster drilling times make the extra weight worth it?
I own both and put up routes on lead. I strongly prefer the lightweight model. I use the big drill when I am replacing bolts.
Marathon · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2010 · Points: 275
Lynn S · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jun 2007 · Points: 1,380

Bosch compact, you won't be disappointed. Ground up or top down, it's a powerful drill.