Mountain Project Logo

C2 Aiding What are the huge hooks used for?

Original Post
randy88fj62 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2010 · Points: 291

I am still new to the world of big wall and aiding. I have no idea why such large hooks like the Pika Iribis, BD bat Hook, or Fish Hooks are required on hooking routes.

The smaller hooks, cam hooks, beaks, and rurps make sense to me but I cannot understand the need for such large heavy hooks.

What am I missing? Got any good stories where it was a critical piece?

Kirk B. · · Boise, ID · Joined Feb 2013 · Points: 60

Top edge of a flake or a funky ledge.

calvino · · Sedro Woolley · Joined May 2010 · Points: 425

Little hook are for little edges bigger hooks are for bigger edges. If the lip of a flake is rounded the smaller hook may not be able to reach a place to get purchase, thus a bigger hook is needed. Plus they inspire a bit more confidence. No matter what size hook I am using it always feels sketchy.

Peter Zabrok · · Hamilton, ON · Joined Dec 2007 · Points: 645

We're aid climbers. We couldn't possibly wrap our hands over the top of a flake and use it as a free climbing handhold. ;)

You don't use big hooks a lot, but when you need them, they are very handy. There is a rightwards traversing pitch on South Seas/P.O. where they come in pretty handy, hooking along the top of a big flake. I suppose you could free climb it, though, not sure.

They can also work for pro occasionally when nothing else will.

Scott Stoveken · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2012 · Points: 0

Classic PTPP short story:

At the base of New Dawn, PTPP asks Jon if he saw the bag of hooks needed for the first pitch, which he hadn't... they were in the truck... and at this point Stan chimes in something like: "I seem to remember the PTPP big wall checklist, blah blah blah" that was good for a great laugh! but no worries, they got it done

Scott

Fat Dad · · Los Angeles, CA · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 60