Mountain Project Logo

Guide book collectors?

FOR SALE/WANTED WARNING: Mountain Project cannot verify the identity or trustworthiness of any member. Fraud has happened.
  • Do not use PayPal "gift" payments, wire transfers, Western Union, etc.
  • Use PayPal credit card payments, or other systems that protect you from fraud.
Original Post — This topic is locked and closed to new replies
Tom McCrumm · · Somewhere north of the Gunks · Joined Apr 2004 · Points: 7

I have a lot of climbing guidebooks from the 1960's-1970's.  I'm wondering if there are any climbers out there who collect old guidebooks.  I hate to just throw them away.  Now that SuperTopo is gone, I don't know how to reach people so I'm trying Mtn Project, which I've never used before.

ClimbingOn · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2008 · Points: 0

There is a significant market, especially for the older, rarer guides. eBay is the best bet, but if you want to sell them all at once Chessler would likely be interested. There are a few I’m interested in for my personal collection. I’ll send you a PM. 

Steve G · · Portland, OR · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 29

I collect older guidebooks and am interested. PM sent.

Tim Stafford · · Rock Hill, SC · Joined Aug 2019 · Points: 0

Are there any East Coast guidebooks in the collection?  I'd love some old guides to the Carolinas

petzl logic · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2013 · Points: 730
Tom McCrumm wrote: I have a lot of climbing guidebooks from the 1960's-1970's.  I'm wondering if there are any climbers out there who collect old guidebooks.  I hate to just throw them away.  Now that SuperTopo is gone, I don't know how to reach people so I'm trying Mtn Project, which I've never used before.

no need to throw them out!

DaEyeDoc · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Feb 2015 · Points: 20

Also interested in old guide books, especially western US

Tom McCrumm · · Somewhere north of the Gunks · Joined Apr 2004 · Points: 7