Mountain Project Logo

Learning to tie knots

Original Post
Peter Herman · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2017 · Points: 0

So I’m a noob.  I’ve been Outdoor climbing several times, but always with someone way more experienced than me and they’ve always helped me “tie in.”  I want to get better at knot tying and what knots are used for different styles/purposes.  Is there a way to get a small section(maybe 5-10 feet) of climbing rope to learn to tie knots on?  And would anyone recommend a book on climbing knots?  

Thanks!

Matthew Bernstein · · Yosemite, CA · Joined Jan 2015 · Points: 197

Good on ya! If any of your friends have old retired ropes, u could ask them for a 10 foot section to practice tying knots. If that's not a possibility, you could go to any REI or other outdoor gear retailer and buy 9 or 10mm static cord by the foot. It wouldn't be good for climbing on, but would have a similar feel to climbing rope and would probably cost you less than 10 bucks. Perfect for practicing knots.  As for books, "Freedom Of the Hills" is a great all around climbing reference book that will have essential climbing knots in it. 

Alan Emery · · Lebanon, NH · Joined Aug 2011 · Points: 239
Chalk in the Wind · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Aug 2014 · Points: 3

animatedknots.com

Sunny-D · · SLC, Utah · Joined Aug 2006 · Points: 700

Peter,

Where are you at?  I’ve got tons of old rope that I could get you a piece of. 

Tradgic Yogurt · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2016 · Points: 55

Robert is right on the money, Grog's animated knots page is the go-to nowadays. There's even an app. And then while you are learning why you use the knots climbers use, you practice, practice, practice until you can tie the knot blindfolded, in the dark, without looking, etc. 

Peter Herman · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Jul 2017 · Points: 0

I’m located in Pennsylvania.  

Bill Lawry · · Albuquerque, NM · Joined Apr 2006 · Points: 1,812

You might try starting with this page: Knots