Mountain Project Logo

Como Italy - summer 2017

Original Post
Tenaya Hurst · · San Jose, CA · Joined Jan 2017 · Points: 196

Hello Mountain Project!

As you all know, the hardest part about rock climbing is finding people to do it with!!!!  I have been climbing for 30 years, I know.

Moved to Italy recently to be a full time climber abroad because the season is just starting.  I cannot meet anyone, I even was going to go beneath myself and hire a guide, but these companies will not call me back even though I am offering them hundreds of Euros to just take me out.

Please, if you know any climbers, travelers, Swiss or Italians who are climbers - please help a girl out.  I am alone, solo, single, can be a great asset to a group who needs even numbers for partnering and I am a total team player on the camping trips.  I can do all the dishes, carry more than my share in my backpack, and I'll help in any other way requested.

Thank you!!!  I have a beautiful apartment in Como, if you are traveling in Italy and want to climb, I have the place, I have my own harness and shoes - you need to bring the expertise and find out where the heck to take us because I am having the hardest time connecting to the community there.  ~Tenaya!~

Curt Haire · · leavenworth, wa · Joined Jun 2011 · Points: 1

being a geographically challenged Yank, I'm not sure exactly where Como is (too lazy to google it...) but -- I'll be traveling in the Dolomites the first half of July, and looking for climbing partners.  I'm 64, been climbing 47 years, charter member AMGA long retired.  I'm looking to jump on some long moderate alpine rock routes.  I'm a dirty old man, but my wife will be traveling with me -- she just prefers bicycling to climbing.  she'll climb some, but she toasted her knees skiing back in the 80's, so she's hesitant to commit to alpine-sized climbs.   curthaire@nwi.net

BryanOC · · All over · Joined Jun 2015 · Points: 5