Mountain Project Logo

Questions about moving to Boise

Original Post
Sean Sullivan · · Idyllwild, CA · Joined Apr 2010 · Points: 105

Hey all,

I am a NYC Earth Science high school teacher. I've been teaching and climbing for the last fifteen years. After the birth of our second child, my wife and I realized that the cost of living here is too high. We've considered Boise. Here are some questions that I have. Any feedback would be appreciated:

1. Where do we live? We are looking for a three to four bedroom, probably renting initially. Ideally, we would like to be able to walk to places. Is that a possibility? Also, we'd like to be near a good school district. Our oldest will be four in March. Also, if possible, I'd like to be near local climbing.

2. Where do I work? Anyone have any info about teaching out there? My application for certification is pending, but I am a certified in NYC to teach Earth Science as well as Biology, and I have fifteen years of experience. I'd love to work at a place that was keen on getting the youth outdoors. If you know of a particular place that I should apply, I'd appreciate the heads-up.

3. Moving logistics? We have two cars and a bunch of stuff. Not sure if we hire movers, or sell most of what we have and start over? If anyone has moved a family across the country and has suggestions...

3. Local Climbing? I've been checking out the Black Cliffs and it seems pretty decent. How likely is it that I could get out climbing after work? Do many of you do that? Are there other areas that I should know about? What about hiking and other outdoor stuff?

How about climbing through the winter? I've climbed in the Gunks in January before; it' doable, but cold...plus it was over an hour drive. From what I've read, the Black Cliffs should be a possibility. I plan to visit the week of February 20th and would love to try and get out if anyone is interested in playing tour guide. I lead 5.10.