Mountain Project Logo

Better living through safer anchoring

Original Post
JF M · · NoCo · Joined Jul 2010 · Points: 1,823

Hello MP,

Let me begin by saying that I'm somewhat new to this whole climbing thing (I think you call us "gumbos," but that seems derogatory, so please don't use that term) -- I just got my belay tag for TR at the gym earlier this afternoon -- but I have been doing a whole lot of thinking ever since I started reading on these extremely useful and always enlightening Mountain Projects Forums about how it is necessary to be as safe as possible.

I have already ordered a Metoleus Extra-Safe harness (the one with the two belay loops) and a chalk-bag (along with an extra strap just in case the first one breaks--it was only $12 from Prano).

For Belay devices, I went with a Pretzl GriGri 2 and I also ordered a hollow-block prussick cord from Starling to back it up with (a great idea I read about on these very forums!). The figure-8 belay looked easier to use but because it doesn't automatically catch the TR falls just by releasing the rope and device, I thought it wasn't worth the risk.

I havent really tried Tradding yet, but I think that I can use the crack at the Gym to work on using all those Camelots and Buddies that the good Tradders use. I want to be ready to head out and climb up the Dome in Yosemite by next summer, so I am shifting in to high gear as far as getting my climbing systems dialed in.