Mountain Project Logo

Gear Review - Aeropress Coffee Maker

Original Post
Daryl Allan · · Sierra Vista, AZ · Joined Sep 2006 · Points: 1,040

So I found the best campground coffee maker ever. I didn't plan on this being an actual gear review but after writing it, i decided to move it here. Some background on me first: I've been roasting my own beans for about 4 years now and am the proud owner of a Rancillio Silvia espresso machine. I've made coffee in everything from Army canteens using a sock as a filter to a La Marzocco GS3. And I don't camp often but when i do, the morning cup with friends is the best part of crawling out of the fart sack.

The discouraging factor in making coffee from actual grounds when camping is almost always cleaning up the mess. We always have the instant method but we're talking about a good cup of coffee so those instant single serving packs just aren't an option. Excluding instant add-water/stir methods, the most common options i see at the campground are the french press and the italian stovetop device. These are both a mess to clean up without a garden hose.

So this leads us to the Aeropress. I just bought one from Amazon for about $25 and another $3 for 300 [extra] filters; free shipping. A friend told me about it a couple years ago but only recently decided to give it a try after destroying my 3rd french press.

It's basically the same idea as a french press - only much better. The operation closely mimics the Clover machine concept, just inverted; coffee in contact with water a reduced amount of time to limit acidity/bitterness of end product. Being about $9,975 less than a Clover, it's just a big fat syringe with a filter on the bottom instead of a needle. You set it on top of a cup, put the grounds inside along with some hot water, let it sit for about 10-20 seconds, press out the coffee then top off with hot water. Strength is determined by grind, steeping time, and amount of beans.

Aeropress