Adventure Projects is hiring an Android engineer to join us in Boulder, CO
Mountain Project Logo

Morgan Fas

Colonial Heights, va
30 years old · Female

Member Since
Nov 21, 2013
Last Visit: Dec 28, 2014
0 Points Details

Morgan is in the Partner Finder
Best Times to Meet: Weekends mostly, with federal holidays off.
Likes Trad, Sport, Tr
Leads Follows
Trad 5.5 5.9
Ice WI1 WI3
More Info
Hello!

Bottom line up front: I love rock climbing. I'm not in as good of shape as I used to be but am determined to get back and surpass my previous abilities. I'm currently not living near any climbing/hiking but am willing to drive to get my "fix". I'm very concerned about safety while climbing and have been told I'm a pretty good belayer. Mostly, I just love getting outside and having fun, no matter what the activity.

Qualities I appreciate in a new climbing/hiking partner: easy-going, non-judgmental, has a love for the outdoors and its activities, prioritizes safety.

--- The long version ---

My name is Morgan and I have a great love of the outdoors. I started rock and climbing about 5 years ago. However, I moved the Alaska in 2010 and unfortunately wasn't able to do much of either while I was there. Instead, I spent most of my time learning to backcountry ski, running, and hiking. I know it sounds weird that I didn't do much ice climbing in Alaska, but after several trips in negative temps with unending screaming barfies, I got a hint and limited my climbing trips to early and late season and summer glacier trips. And rock climbing in Alaska is almost non-existent (at least where I was).

All that to say, I'm not in as good shape as I used to be, and it's pretty sad for me to face that fact. I began my rock climbing journey in the Gunks and hold a soft spot in my heart for that place. I've had the privilege of climbing in a good amount of places since then but I will always appreciate what the Gunks has to offer. Most of my early ice climbing experience was in the Catskills, and I was able to get a lot of rock and ice trips in other areas of the NE. I've hiked and climbed Mt. Washington several times and had many other wonderful experiences in the NE.

I can't discount the wonderful experiences I had in Alaska. Living/recreating in Alaska is an experience all its own and I encourage anyone who ever gets the chance to do either to take it. There's no doubt in my mind I will live there again some day.

My focus right now is getting back into climbing shape. I used to be pretty decent (TR 5.10+ & WI4, Trad Lead 5.9, Sport Lead 5.10, Lead WI3) and I was progressing quickly. I'm determined to get back to where I was and surpass what I could do. Rock climbing is really my passion and I'm glad to have it somewhat back in my life again.

Currently I am living in eastern VA. I am tragically not surrounded by any mountains or climbing but I am willing to drive to get my "fix". I will only be here for about 6 months and then will hopefully be moving to CO. Being in the mountains is the best way for me to decompress from the work week and of course, I'll never pass up an opportunity to climb if I can help it. I'd like to be in decent shape for when I move out west.


To-Do List

None yet.

Ticks

None yet.

Tick Breakdown

Pitches Routes Days Out
90 Days 0 0 0
Last Year 0 0 0
5 Years 0 0 0
All Time 0 0 0

Where Morgan Climbs