Mountain Project Logo

How to get pumped without climbing or hangboarding?

Original Post
F r i t z · · North Mitten · Joined Mar 2012 · Points: 995

Background: I've been climbing for twelve years, mostly trad, sometimes full-time. I've been through many training cycles of hangboarding and 4x4's.

I tweaked my left middle finger trying to onsight a roof route where my feet cut and I hung by my left hand alone for too long. That, plus a pockety gym route. Self-diagnosed A2 sprain instead of a tear because I didn't hear a pop and I'm an optimist.

I'm taking gelatin supplements, eating hella veggies and avoiding hard climbing (except for bimonthly trips to the Red, cough cough). I always warm up with reverse wrist curls (20lbs x 50rep x 2set), pushups, dips and light military press.

My question is, can I do other training exercises that simulate a forearm pump without using that finger? I already did a power-endurance hangboard cycle without using the affected finger, and have been climbing easier routes without it. Every now and then a jug will hit me right at the base of the finger/palm junction and it hurts then.

Ideas:
- Wrist roller
- Regular wrist curls with barbell behind back
- Rice bucket without middle finger?
- Hammer pronation

Basically, I don't want to lose my RRG power-endurance gainzzzzzz, but I want to give my middle finger a safe space to heal and explore its individuality.

Thanks!

Here's the route that did my finger in. It's somewhere in the Midwest, which is home base for the next couple months. I'll be on the road (Vegas/VRG to Creek to GJ) from February to May if anyone wants to tie in.

Mark E Dixon · · Possunt, nec posse videntur · Joined Nov 2007 · Points: 974

If you can afford a couple of hundred dollars, you might want to get a consult from Tyler Nelson. 

I've known two people who used his rehab protocols with good results and were able to climb and maintain strength while recovering.

Small sample size, I know...