Mountain Project Logo

Fixing Delaminated tenaya shoes

Original Post
Conghui Song · · Sugar Land, TX · Joined May 2014 · Points: 10

My tenaya Tarifa got slightly delaminated after the first trip (attached some pictures). I’m thinking of fixing it myself since it’s bought couple of years back. I sent an email to tenaya asking for fixing tips a week ago but haven’t heard back. Can anyone kindly provide some tips of doing that myself? I have no experience working on shoes before.
Or is it even worth fixing? Should I just keep using them then send for resold?

Mike Shorts · · Unknown Hometown · Joined May 2019 · Points: 10

Leave it, climb on, send in for resole when they need it. Trying to fix it yourself is not worth the hassle imho. Doesn’t look too bad either…

rocknice2 · · Montreal, QC · Joined Nov 2006 · Points: 3,847

The first shoe already needs a resole. You can continue to use it but you'll need a toe cap if you do.

I've never found a good way to fix a delamination of climbing shoe soles. 

It also looks like your front pointing to much. Try to use the area between the big toe and ball of your foot.

Caleb Jones · · North Carolina · Joined Oct 2018 · Points: 0

I’d give Tenaya a couple of days to respond. I had a similar issue a year or two ago and they sent me a new pair for replacement within a couple of weeks. They told me to keep the pair that was delaminating so I glued it up and have both pairs still. 

tobias bundle · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2020 · Points: 123

This happened with two pairs of my Tenayas. Is this common to them? Has anyone else had this? I ended up sending both in to be resoled. 

Elijah S · · PNW · Joined Mar 2017 · Points: 3,262

Like Caleb, I also had a pair of tenayas delam on me and they sent me a new pair for free. Not sure if it’s a common problem with them or not.