Mountain Project Logo

Importance of using trad draws vs sport draws?

Original Post
Michael D · · Milwaukee, WI · Joined May 2018 · Points: 70

I'm new to trad climbing and am starting to buy gear but already have sport equipment.

I know trad draws have the advantage of helping isolate rope movement from placed pieces and have other advantages like being lightweight, but is it always required? For gear that is solidly placed and doesn't require being extended with an alpine draw is it still a bad idea to use sport draws?

Thanks for the replies!

Niccolo Gallio · · mainly Italy · Joined May 2019 · Points: 0
Michael D wrote: I'm new to trad climbing and am starting to buy gear but already have sport equipment.

I know trad draws have the advantage of helping isolate rope movement from placed pieces and have other advantages like being lightweight, but is it always required? For gear that is solidly placed and doesn't require being extended with an alpine draw is it still a bad idea to use sport draws?

Thanks for the replies!

brace yourself for a barrage of "it depends" answers..

John Reeve · · Durango, formely from TX · Joined Nov 2018 · Points: 15

No, you don't always need to extend pieces.  You can either use a racking biner on a cam, or a quickdraw if you don't need a lot of extension.

FWIW, I personally wish that I had climbed on my partners gear while I was still figuring that stuff out.  There was no need to buy as much crap as I did as soon as I did.  Not that I regret having a nice rack... I've since gotten a lot of use out of that.  But in general, I feel like I'd have done better to climb on other folks racks and then build out what I knew I needed rather than building a rack, guessing, and just luckily ending up with an appropriate mix of draws.

Pat Light · · Charlottesville, VA · Joined Nov 2017 · Points: 0