Mountain Project Logo

Beginner rock climber

Original Post
Ricky Villa · · Corona, CA · Joined 23 days ago · Points: 0

I’m going to Joshua tree to do some climbing this is my first time doing out door climbing. I spend most of my time climbing indoors. I have a good amount of gear. Like the basic, rope, QuickDraw, runners( sling I think is another term for them), and a few carabiner. I know the basic things like belaying, making figure 8, stopper knot, have some what of an idea on making a anchor. What else should I keep in mind? How many carabiners should I take? What’s the way you set up anchor? Any beginner places you would recommend? Any tips that’ll help out? Thank you for looking over this :)
Update :  So I went with the boys, I did everything I could of done to keep us as safe as possible. I was a little nervous b/c I Was thinking about some of the comments saying it was a bad idea BUT I’m still here alive which means I did everything well enough to see another day hahah but I did do a lot of research (about a month worth of research)before I headed to JTree like for example: reading books, articles, watching videos, and talking to a gym instructor.thank you for your positive comment( those to added a positive comment hahah)  I had a blast with my friends and we all enjoyed ourself.
But the cute baby puppy I brought with me...... well it DIED! The doctor said it was b/c of all the negative comments people added on the post.

Nat Vorel · · MN · Joined Jul 2017 · Points: 42