Mountain Project Logo

What do you hate seeing in older climbers?

Original Post
Tim Stich · · Colorado Springs, Colorado · Joined Jan 2001 · Points: 1,482

So this is in fact for bashing Old Climbers, and who care about the other thread anyway? This one has legs

My least favorite Old Climber trait? The endless sanctimoniousness. OMG. The lectures about leave no trace. The endless advice lacking humorous stories of when they were noobs and sucked balls.

revans90 · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2013 · Points: 50

blaming their general lack of climbing talent on their equipment used

Mark Pilate · · MN · Joined Jun 2013 · Points: 10

Tim’s right.   Too much posturing goes on in climber circles.  We were all Noobs once.  
in fact, I remember once when I was a total Noob and headed out to Colorado the first time.  I had been climbing for less than a year, but thought I had my shit dialed in and was gonna tick a classic.  Turns out, My partner and I couldn’t even find the start of the route, let alone stay on route.  Went up Intending to do the Casual route, but wound up on D7.  We kept thinking “this Colorado 5.10 is a bit stiff”.   Boy were we sheepish afterwards.

Lena chita · · OH · Joined Mar 2011 · Points: 1,647

Anything that starts with “back in my day...”

beensandbagged · · smallest state · Joined Oct 2013 · Points: 0
revans90 wrote: blaming their general lack of climbing talent on their equipment used

This is a great idea I have to try this, whenever I have a hard time I blame it on being old,fat, and out of shape

Tradiban · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Apr 2004 · Points: 11,605

Claiming they never would have used a power drill even if it was available in the 1900s.

Josh Lipko · · Charlotte · Joined Jun 2014 · Points: 10

“I’d love to see that boulderer climb a 5.9+ crack” as if a strong boulderer wouldn’t master a relatively simple type of climbing very quickly if they cared to try it

Ma Ja · · Red River Gorge · Joined Sep 2017 · Points: 109