Mountain Project Logo

best first routes?

Original Post
Carl Sorenson · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Mar 2019 · Points: 0

I am new to mountaineering. I have good background in backpacking and rock climbing. It's a goal of mine to summit Mt.Rainier. Some online resources recommended starting out with some more accessible climbs on St.Helen's, Adams, or Shasta etc. to get a feel for it before diving in. Any advice on how to get started or what resources are most useful? 

Kyle Tarry · · Portland, OR · Joined Mar 2015 · Points: 344

Carl, what is your location?  For starting out, the most important thing is probably convenience, because you want to accumulate time and mileage and it doesn't matter where so much.  Climb where you live.

I would recommend you focus not on mountains, but on routes, and that will allow you to take a skill-based approach to your climbing progression.  You say you want to climb Rainier; by what route?  Guided or unguided?  Once you answer these questions, you can assess what skills you might need to learn, and start building them.  For example:

Goal: Rainier via DC, Unguided, normal summer season
Skills: Glacier navigation, glacier rope techniques, moderate snow climbing, snow camping

So, knowing that you need to learn these skills, you could start figuring out a way to do some climbs to learn them.  Here's a PNW-based progression list that would work:

South Sister: General mountain awareness, fitness, possible easy snow
St. Helens via Worm Flows in winter/spring: General navigation, easy snow climbing
Hood via Hogsback: Steeper snow climbing
Middle Sister via Hayden: Simple glacier travel, moderate snow, scrambling, camping
Baker via CD w/ Heliotrope bivy: Glacier navigation, moderate snow climbing, snow camping

In addition to these climbs, you'd want to do some skills training to prepare you for them; for example, getting all the glacier stuff figured out before you set foot on Baker.

Hope this helps.