Mountain Project Logo

Replacing anchors - first time

Original Post
Jillian Nicole · · Cottonwood Heights · Joined Jun 2019 · Points: 5

I’m new to climbing (one season) and I’d like to replace a worn anchor or two in the Moab area when we visit next week. Here’s some questions I have; all advice appreciated :)
- is it okay for a newbie to do this or do you need permission or a certification???
- route suggestions that need replacing (up to 5.10b only, please)
- thanks!

FrankPS · · Atascadero, CA · Joined Nov 2009 · Points: 275

Will you be replacing bolts or just worn hooks and rings?

If the latter, do it. Do it with similar metals with adequate load ratings. Not some janky crap.

Don't replace bolts if you don't have the experience and knowledge. Let someone else replace bolts. Donate to ASCA and contact the local climber's coalition or gear shop.

safeclimbing.org

Scott E · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2015 · Points: 342

Like Frank said, do not replace bolts if you do not have significant experience with placing bolts along with a thorough understanding of the pros/cons of each bolt type and different metals

Adam Fleming · · Moab · Joined Jun 2015 · Points: 315

I appreciate your desire to do some stewardship!  Donating to the ASCA would be the best way for you to help at this point in your climbing career.  There's a great community of bolt replacers in SLC that you could learn from.  With more knowledge and experience, you could come back to Moab sometime in the future and replace an anchor yourself!

Another way to help would be to buy a bunch of Wag Bags and stock the dispensers in Indian Creek.  I did that two years ago and Pagan Mountaineering (local gear store in Moab) gave me the bags at cost.  PM me if you want to know where the dispensers are.