Mountain Project Logo

Posting photos?

Original Post
Willy Fawl · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2019 · Points: 50

Are there any tutorials on this site that give a cogent and concise way to post photos? I've searched and searched and come with outdated posts from a decade ago. I've tried everything that I could find but still can't seal the deal. Any help?

John Hegyes · · Las Vegas, NV · Joined Feb 2002 · Points: 5,549
Willy Fawl wrote: Are there any tutorials on this site that give a cogent and concise way to post photos? I've searched and searched and come with outdated posts from a decade ago. I've tried everything that I could find but still can't seal the deal. Any help?

What is the difficulty you are having? You have to be logged in and using a browser to access the actual Mountain Project website - you cannot upload photos using the mobile app. On any route or area page, there is a link "add to page" in the upper right corner. That is where you can add a photo.

Willy Fawl · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2019 · Points: 50

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm having trouble inserting a photo into forum posts. I was able to upload photos to my personal page but can't figure out how to copy them to a forum. I see an image icon in the forums but when I click on it I get a box saying "drop image". I clicked on the image icon in the box and which brings up another box asking for image ID. I've entered one in  the format of <img=ID#> but nothing happens. Where am I going wrong?

Marc801 C · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 65
Willy Fawl wrote: Thanks for the quick reply. I'm having trouble inserting a photo into forum posts. I was able to upload photos to my personal page but can't figure out how to copy them to a forum. I see an image icon in the forums but when I click on it I get a box saying "drop image". I clicked on the image icon in the box and which brings up another box asking for image ID. I've entered one in  the format of but nothing happens. Where am I going wrong?

Just click on the area that says “drop image”. A file upload dialog appears. Use that. That second image icon is if you know the MP picture ID of a photo uploaded to your personal page.  I’ve never used that.  

Willy Fawl · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2019 · Points: 50

When I click on the "drop image" area, the software takes me directly the pictures stored on my computer, not my MP personal page. As I understand it, you can't post pictures directly from your personal computer. How do I get the "drop image" to point to my personal page or something other than my PC picture files? Also, I do know the MP id of the pictures but when I try nothing happens. Is there a way to preview a post before submitting it?

Suburban Roadside · · Abovetraffic on Hudson · Joined Apr 2014 · Points: 2,184
Marc801 C wrote:

Just click on the area that says “drop image”. A file upload dialog appears. Use that. That second image icon is if you know the MP picture ID of a photo uploaded to your personal page.  I’ve never used that.  

Wil, (&Marc) Once you have up--loaded pictures to your page, an "ID" # is generated.  The following set of numbers "  118010662  "are the"ID" put those numbers between 2 sets of double [brackets ] =]],  but faceing in; bracketing the number  - like this with no spaces   ( [ [ ),,,,  118010662  ,,,,,, ( ] ] )

and see
dog

Also you can "drop-in" photos from your commputer directly  . . .
 2019 ! Still finding fun new stuff to play on  
Marc801 C · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 65
Willy Fawl wrote: When I click on the "drop image" area, the software takes me directly the pictures stored on my computer, not my MP personal page. 
That's exactly how it's supposed to work - to allow you to select from your computer an image file to upload to MP.
As I understand it, you can't post pictures directly from your personal computer.
Correct - the pics are uploaded to MP, not displayed from your computer.
 How do I get the "drop image" to point to my personal page or something other than my PC picture files?
You don't.
 Also, I do know the MP id of the pictures but when I try nothing happens.
Did you click on the secondary image icon, which allows you to enter a MP image ID?

 Is there a way to preview a post before submitting it?
No.
Willy Fawl · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2019 · Points: 50
118010662  Gentlemen and gentlewomen, thanks for sticking with me on this but I'm still not getting any software love. I tried pasting the ID # between the double brackets and,,,, bupkis. When I try the image icon where it goes to my computer file I get a message from MP saying "Code5" and then please try again. FWIW I'm using Windows 7
John Hegyes · · Las Vegas, NV · Joined Feb 2002 · Points: 5,549

Typing the above number yields the following...

russian ice screw
Willy Fawl · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2019 · Points: 50
Willy Fawl · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2019 · Points: 50

Ahh! Finally worked. I typed the number instead copy and paste and it worked. Thanks a lot everyone.
Marc801 C · · Sandy, Utah · Joined Feb 2014 · Points: 65
Willy Fawl wrote: 118010662  Gentlemen and gentlewomen, thanks for sticking with me on this but I'm still not getting any software love. I tried pasting the ID # between the double brackets and,,,, bupkis.
Where did you get that ID number? That happens to be the ID number of this thread, not an image. When you view one of your images, like the ice screw, you'll see its ID just below the image. That's the ID that you put between the double sets of brackets.


When I try the image icon where it goes to my computer file I get a message from MP saying "Code5" and then please try again. FWIW I'm using Windows 7

When you click on the image icon in the edit bar:



you get this:

That uploads from your computer. I've never had drag and drop work properly, so I always click which produces the standard Windows file selection dialog.

The secondary image icon is supposed to allow entering a MP image ID number, but I cannot get that to work, but putting the image ID in the double sets of brackets does.

Also, if you're still running Windows 7, you're exposing yourself to several severe security risks - you really should be running Windows 10 at this point.
Willy Fawl · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2019 · Points: 50

Marc, thanks for the skinny. I must have got that number when I was flailing about in frustration. And yes, I need to upgrade 7 soon. 10 didn't play well with some of my programs.

Guideline #1: Don't be a jerk.

Climbing Photos & Videos
Post a Reply to "Posting photos?"

Log In to Reply