Mountain Project Logo

Max/Average Grade of Ticks for Crag by Climber: Example the Gunks

Original Post
Kalli Schumacher · · New York, NY · Joined Mar 2017 · Points: 1
Disclaimer: I'm not good at stats, I didn't thoroughly test my code, there's probably a whole host wrong with how I went about this.  I was just curious, not looking to start a fight over how shitty my data is. 

tl;dr
Less than 7 percent of climbers who report ticks on MP average leading cleanly at 5.9 or above in the Gunks.
Less than 4 percent of climbers who report ticks on MP average leading cleanly at 10a or above in the Gunks. 
Less than 2 percent of climbers who report ticks on MP average leading cleanly at 10b or above in the Gunks. 

Roughly 20 percent of climbers who report ticks on MP have lead a 5.9 clean at the Gunks.
Less than 18 percent of climbers who report ticks on MP have lead a 10a clean at the Gunks
Less than 10 percent of climbers who report ticks on MP have lead a 10b clean at the Gunks

Link to raw-ish data/graphs

--------------------------------------------------

So this started with a conversation where I was musing what percent of climbers are climbing 5.9/5.10 in the Gunks (part of a larger conversation on breaking into said grades).  Is the notion that the gunks are sandbagged reflected in the tick data?

But I was curious: what percentage of climbers at the Gunks are at each level?  More specifically, how many are climbing at or above 5.9? 

The MP tick data is imperfect, but it's the best we got. So I pulled the data.  I first just pulled all ticks for every route.  The graph below shows the average grade ticked and max grade ticked.  The average was calculated by giving 5.0-5.14d a number value, multiplying this by number of routes at that grade ticked, summing this for all grades, and dividing that total by total number of ticks.

Plots: All Ticks at Gunks