Mountain Project Logo

Marseille / Calanques: Looking for a guide or leader (paid)

Original Post
Caspar van Lissa · · Amsterdam, Netherlands · Joined Aug 2018 · Points: 0

(Français en bas) I am a passionate amateur climber (for 14 years) looking for a paid guide or climbing partner to climb the Calanques. My bouldering level is 6B+. My lead climbing level is low (5A), but I am a very reliable belayer. My level of outdoor climbing is about 6A. I will be in Marseille to teach a workshop at the University of Aix-en-Provence (my PhD is in developmental psychology). I will be in Marseille from June 21 to 23, and I would like to find someone from the local climbing community to enjoy the beautiful nature of the Calanques together, and I am happy to pay for the effort!

With sincere regards, Caspar

Je cherche un guide ou leader rémunéré! Je suis un grimpeur amateur passionné à la recherche d'un guide rémunéré ou d'un partenaire d'escalade pour escalader les Calanques. Mon niveau de bloc est de 6B+. Mon niveau de leader est bas (5A), mais je suis un assureur très sûr. Mon niveau d'escalade extérieure est d'environ 6A. Je suis docteur en psychologie du développement, enseignant à l'université d'Aix-en-Provence. Je serai à Marseille du 21 au 23 juin, et j'aimerais trouver quelqu'un de la communauté locale d'escalade pour profiter de cette belle nature ensemble, et je suis heureux de payer pour cet effort !
Avec mes sincères salutations, Caspar

kenr · · Unknown Hometown · Joined Oct 2010 · Points: 16,608

It's easier to enjoy more of "the beautiful nature of the Calanques" . . . if do not mix that with roped climbing. Plenty of Wonderful non-difficult sea-cliff scrambles + hikes / trail-runs, not to mention sea-kayaking.

Generally find higher rock quality + less polished around Marseille + Toulon on new crags outside the Calanques.

Anyway June 21 is likely rather hot for many Calanques g.v. classics -- better to climb at higher-altitude crags inland.

Ken